Art Journaling – Tips & Tricks

Hello everybody! Today I’m posting something a bit different. The reason today’s post isn’t on Sunday is because it isn’t really a DIY. Art journaling is something I really enjoy doing. It’s a fun way to let out your creativity and create something cool.

Of course, everybody has their own style of journaling.

I myself mostly use quotes as a base and then illustrate it with colours and images I think match the meaning and mood of the quote.

Image1

This is an example of my journal. I used the colour scheme of yellow and found two pictures that fit the meaning of the quote. Then I wrote the quote and stuck the pictures. Finally I added rope around one of the images to give it a really creative touch. I really like doing it this way because it doesn’t take much time to create something cool.

Here are a few tips if you want to try out art journalling with quotes:

Tip 1 : Colours

Before you start, choose a colour scheme that fits the quote. You can choose to use mostly one colour or you can choose two to three colours but I think you shouldn’t use to many colours or it’ll get messy. For happy quotes, use bright colours, for sad quotes use darker and dimmer colours.

Tip 2: Fonts

Always choose a font that fits the theme. If you want you can choose to do this on the computer and print it out or you can hand-letter it. I personally usually hand lettering it because I think it gives the quote an extra touch. Also make sure the colour of your font matches the colour theme or contrasts it.

Tip 3: Images

Choose images that fit your theme, but they don’t always have to portrait the quote. For example, in my page above I didn’t use an image of a bird sitting on a tree but just of trees. If yoe see it you understand it fits the quote but it doesn’t have to literally portrait the quote. It is more important that the images fit the theme than that they fit the message.

Tip 4: Contrast

Use contrasts! Not every quote fits this but if it’s possible definitely try to use at least a little contrast. This makes the different parts stand out and it makes the page more interesting.

Tip 5: Lay-out

Make sure the page gets an interesting layout. Placing everything in a row can be a bit boring, so make sure the attention slides along the page. Try out different lay-outs and see what makes the page the most interesting.

Tip 6: Be creative

Use your imagination! You aren’t limited to using images. Paint, draw, ink, use crayons, try out different things. Use buttons, paperclips, any thing you can find and just go for it. After all, the most important thing is to have fun. 🙂

How do I get inspiration?

Sometimes you want to make something, but you really just have no inspiration. I have a big folder full of images from magazines, leaflets, paper bags, little drawings and other thing I can use for my journal. Whenever I need inspiration I can just take a look and I’ll always get an idea. Of course, browsing Pinterest also gives loads of ideas. 😛

 

Here’s an example of how I make my pages:

The quote is used: See the positive in the negative

My colour scheme: Black and white

This is what I used: Image 2

I started with drawing a black raster on the white paper with a fine-liner and a white raster on the black paper with white pencil, creating two rasters of 15 by 15 cm. I liked this idea because it created a big contrast between the two sides, but they were still the same thing.

Image 3

Then I proceeded with my images. I decided to use black -white images of wolves because they fit the theme and the rough-ish style I wanted to create. I stuck a few lighter images on the white and a few darker ones on the black.

Image 4

Then I hand lettered the text onto the two rasters. I used only capitals because that fitted the mood. On the white paper I used rounder letters and on the black I used square corners to create a bit more contrast, but not too much because I wanted it to be clear that it was one quote and that the two parts belonged to each other.

Image 5

Then for the lay-ut I chose to place them asymmetrically onto the page, because I thought that just looked better. What do you think?

So this was the result:

Image 6

I think it took me like 15 minutes to make. Do you like it?

Now I’m not saying that this is exactly how you should art journal. Everyone has their own way of journaling. These are just a few tips if you want to work with quotes.

I hope the tips were helpful to you☺️

If you found this post helpful, please like, comment and/or share. It really means a lot to me😊

Please let me know if you want me to post things like this more often or if you have other tips for art journalling in the comments.

Thank you for reading!

Xxx, Yara

 

7 thoughts on “Art Journaling – Tips & Tricks

Leave a Reply

